February Projects!!…

Good afternoon, hope everyone is well??

I must admit, I don’t normally make lists, I normally just seem to wing it, go with the flow and see what happens. But as the amount of ideas, printed patterns, and half-finished projects are building up, I think I need to be a little more organised with my evenings and weekends.

Here’s five of the main things I want to get done, or finished off. And as February is a short month as it is, wish me luck!!

1- Make a knitted or crocheted purse – I recently found some purse frames on eBay, pretty cheap too! So I bought two small ones, coin purse size, and one slightly larger one. I also have some offcuts of fabric in my craft stash, so I think a nice plain crocheted outside, with a funky fabric lining 🙂 I haven’t managed to find a pattern for the size of frame, so looks like I’m on my own for this one!

2- Cushions – A couple of weeks ago I made some cushion panels. So far I have finished one, but still have five to finish off! Three have been done in the same colour scheme (but different shapes/styles), there’s two knitted hearts (link to pattern here , and one plain white crochet one. I think for the fabric side of the crochet one I will use the Cath Kidston fat quarter I have in the stash 🙂 I do love Cath Kidston.

3- Finish the granny square afghan – Oh I do love granny squares!! So easy to do and super quick, before you know it you have a whole pile! Which can then be turned into a blanket, a cushion, or well, anything you like really! I had a pretty good few hours of making these squares, so I now have a few, but not enough for a decent sized blanket. Looks like a few more ‘Granny Square’ crafting hours are needed. Then the joy of stitching them all together and making a lovely afghan throw. Also thinking once it’s done I may use it as the camping/festival blanket. YAY 🙂

4- Make something from ‘Tarn’ – For those new to the concept of ‘Tarn’….. Tarn is strips of fabric from T-shirts. Meaning its normally 100% upcycled 🙂 Obviously you can use anything else for your fabric strips, including bed sheets, pillow cases, linen trousers, table cloths, you get the picture! Cut as much as you want to use into strips as explained HERE You can either crochet or knit, using needles and hooks, or use your hands and arms!! Maybe even weave?! I’m thinking the ‘Tarn Project’ needs to be big, maybe a rug, or a giant floor cushion. (Hmmm… I think I may have a slight thing for cushions!!)

5- and Finally, finish ‘Project Blanket’ – I think it’s very nearly there actually!! I’m still just loving watching it transform from colour to colour… 🙂

2014-01-23 22.29.00

Wow ok, now that I’ve started to think about all the things I want to achieve next month I’ve come over a little apprehensive!! But hey, I’m going to give it a good go!!

Posts on these to follow soon, as well as anything else I get distracted with!

Jess xx

6 thoughts on “February Projects!!…

  1. I have been thinking of a fabric strip project, didn’t know it had a name. I was thinking of using an old cotton bed sheet and dying it before cutting in to strips. Was thinking of orange or brown and making perhaps table mats to start and moving on to a small rug. Not sure at this stage whether to knit, crochet or finger knit. But for now will concentrate on the arm knitted cowls as quite addicted to them. Looking forward to seeing the photos of completed “project blanket” when done.

  2. Hi Jess, great post thanks for sharing 🙂 I used to be pretty bad with lists myself but as the work piles up I find it is the only way to get things done.

    I love the idea of ‘Tarn’ have you ever worked with ‘Plarn’? (plastic bag yarn) It’s really fun and a great way to get rid of all those plastic bags that build up.

    You can see a list of goals I made for myself for 2014 here
    http://ciaramcguiredesigns.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/2014-new-year-goals.html

  3. I am so very proud of you, its amazing what you can do. Im particularly looking forward to seeing the end result of ‘project blanket’ love the colours 🙂
    Mum

Leave a Reply

