The ‘Tarn’ Task – How to make it

2014-01-29 20.30.40

Ok, so last night I was busy! Let me just say this now, making your own ‘tarn’ is HARD WORK!! But the benefits are worth it. If however, you simply don’t have the time (and making this stuff will take up quite a lot!) then you can buy some lovely tarn called ‘Zpaghetti’, made by DMC. It’s about £10 for 120 metres.

For my ‘Tarn Task’ I bought a standard double fitted bed sheet from Tesco for about £8, and I started by cutting the elastic bits out, (due to the corners being a little awkward,) so I had perfect rectangle. Then folded up a few times, and cut the strips out with tailoring scissors (they will need to be sharp!), from one side to the other. My hand was in absolute agony by the time I got half way through, I suggest maybe not folding up so many times as i did, as it does get hard to cut through all the fabric after a while! And you don’t want to end up with blisters 🙂

Then after you have all your strips, you will need to put small slits in the ends of all the strips, as below…

2014-01-29 21.21.12

Then, you will need to start putting them together! So, take one piece, I suggest the left one, and put through the other slit…

2014-01-29 21.21.46

Then you will need to bring the other piece of fabric through its own slit….

Capture

Pull tight…

2014-01-29 21.42.36

Ta-Da!!

Now if you don’t get that, don’t worry, I didn’t either to start with!! And I do apologise for the poor pictures, but I thought the diagram might make up for it 🙂

Then, Ball-Up!

2014-01-29 22.27.32

I’ve still got some left to do, and also some old t-shirts that I will donate to the ‘tarn project’, so I think that’s tonight’s job sorted  Then what to make from it?! I’m still thinking a giant floor cushion 🙂 YAY!

If anyone does decide to give this a go, please send me a comment and let me know how you get on?! 🙂

Jess x

4 thoughts on “The ‘Tarn’ Task – How to make it

  1. I am pretty sure you can make tarn without this joining process. Think I have seen some instructions somewhere on the internet that involves turning just before the end so you do like a giant zig zag if that makes sense. Worth having a search to see if you can find it as would save a bit of time and effort.seen some amazing things made with tarn. May be the thing to “tear” me a way from the arm knitting.

  2. Haha! 🙂 Yeah i did think about doing it that way, but due to how big the sheet was i still think it would be far too much time cutting? Whereas this way, you save a lot of time cutting by doing it whilst folded up. But then you have join….
    I think i will have to do this both ways, to try and compare time taken doing both ways? 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

